Kingdom of Bhutan


The Kingdom of Bhutan is a small, landlocked country located between Tibet in the north and India in the south. It is a mountainous country. It has 20 districts and 4 zones.


The national language of Bhutan is Dzongkha. There are almost as many languages spoken in Bhutan as there are ethnic groups and often languages and dialects differ significantly between neighbouring valleys.


Country Info

Official name: Kingdom of Bhutan
Total area: 18,142square miles (47,000square km)
Capital: Thimphu
Major rivers: Manas, Sankosh, Wong, Amo
Height mountain peaks: Mount Kula (24,792 feet/7,554 m) 
Climate: Tropical in southern plains; cool winters and hot summers in central valleys; and harsh winters and cool summers in Himalayas 
Population: 600,000 to 700,000
Population growth rate: 2.25%
National flower: Blue poppy
National religion: Tantric Buddha; Other religions: Hinduism
Present king: Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck

How to Dress

Click image to enlarge photo.

King Jigme Singye Wangchuck and his wife Jetsun Pema